Introduced by:	Ecklund
Date:	04/15/25
Action:	Adopted
Vote:	9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SEWARD HIGH SCHOOL – 2025 ALASKA DIVISION II STATE WRESTLING CHAMPIONS

- WHEREAS, the Seward High School wrestling team won three individual First Place titles in the 2025 Division II State Tournament; and
- **WHEREAS**, sophomore Ridge Conant, senior Tommy Jarnig, and senior Hunter Forshee-Kurtz had extraordinary showing with a first-place finishes; and
- **WHEREAS**, equally impressive is the fact that Hunter is the first three-time State Champion in Seward High Schools history; and
- **WHEREAS**, these student-athletes and their coaches, Brian Mullaly and Nate Smith, exemplify tenacity, dedication, and talent;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- SECTION 1. That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly recognizes, commends, and congratulates the Seward High School Wrestlers; Ridge Conant, Tommy Jarnig and Hunter Forshee-Kurtz as 2025 Division II State Champions.
- **SECTION 2.** That a special Certificate of Achievement will be presented to each with the commendation of the Assembly.
- **SECTION 3.** That a copy of this resolution be provided to Principal Henry Burns, Jr. and Head Coach Brian Mullaly.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 15TH DAY OF APRIL, 2025.

Peter Ribbens, Assembly President

ATTEST: ur

Michele Turner, CMC, Borough Clerk



Yes:

Baisden, Cox, Cooper, Ecklund, Dunne, Johnson, Morton, Tunseth, Ribbens

No: None

Absent: None