Introduced by:	Mayor
Date:	03/01/22
Hearing:	04/05/22
Action:	Enacted
Vote:	9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH ORDINANCE 2022-04

## AN ORDINANCE ADOPTING THE UPDATED 2022 KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMUNITY WILDFIRE PROTECTION PLAN

- **WHEREAS,** the Kenai Peninsula Borough (Borough) is vulnerable to damages from wildfire events which pose a threat to wildlife habitat, public health and safety and could result in property loss or economic hardship; and
- WHEREAS, the Borough Community Wildfire Protection Plan ("Plan") encompasses all lands and serves two audiences: 1) it provides recommended projects designed to greatly reduce wildfire risk to residents, ensuring that communities live safely in this fire prone environment; and 2) it provides guidance to fire and emergency managers, as well as agencies who manage large land holdings; and
- WHEREAS, the 2022 Plan is aligned with the National Cohesive Wildland Fire Management Strategy and the 2018 All Lands All Hands Action Plan; and
- WHEREAS, this project was funded in part by the Borough, Alaska Division of Forestry and Department of Natural Resources pursuant to USDA Forest Service Award No. 2018-DG-110106-810; and
- WHEREAS, the planning commission held a public hearing on this ordinance at its March 21, 2022 meeting and recommended approval by the passage of PC Resolution 2022-13; and
- WHEREAS, it is in the best interests of the Borough to enact this ordinance;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** The document entitled Kenai Peninsula Borough Community Wildfire Protection Plan is hereby adopted for the Kenai Peninsula Borough. The mayor is authorized to make administrative changes to this plan provided the assembly shall be advised of all such changes.
- **SECTION 2.** This ordinance shall become effective upon its enactment.

ENACTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 5TH DAY OF APRIL, 2022.

ATTEST:

Johni Blankenship, MMC, Borough Clerk

Brent Johnson, Assembly President



Yes:

Bjorkman, Chesley, Cox, Derkevorkian, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Tupper, Johnson

No: None

Absent: None