Introduced by:	
Date:	
Action:	
Vote:	

## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 2022-023

## A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING HB 367 "AN ACT RELATING TO THE PLANNING COMMISSION APPORTIONMENT REQUIREMENT FOR FIRST AND SECOND CLASS BOROUGHS"

- WHEREAS, Representative Ron Gillham, of Soldotna, has introduced HB 367, to amend AS 29.40.020(a), which requires that a borough's planning commission be apportioned "so that the number of members from home rule and first class cities reflects the proportion of borough population residing in home rule and first class cities located in the borough"; and
- WHEREAS, the Kenai Peninsula Borough ("KPB") is unique among Alaska's 19 organized boroughs, in that the KPB has five home rule or first class cities and no other borough has more than two such cities; and
- **WHEREAS,** in its current form AS 29.40.020(a) effectively removes local control and flexibility of the assembly to determine planning commission membership in a manner that best meets the needs of the borough; and
- **WHEREAS,** the proportional allocation requirement under AS 29.40.020(a) is the reason the KPB's Planning Commission is currently comprised of 14 members; and
- **WHEREAS,** first class and home rule cities have planning commissions of their own that oversee land use and development within city borders; and
- **WHEREAS,** city managers and city staff commonly corroborate with borough staff, including platting managers and planning directors, on land development projects within cities, and that collaboration is a predisposition in the relationship between cities and boroughs;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly hereby supports HB 367 and asks Alaska Legislators to pass this bill.
- **SECTION 2.** A copy of this resolution will be sent to all members of the Alaska State Legislature.

**SECTION 3.** This resolution is effective immediately upon adoption.

## ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 5TH DAY OF APRIL, 2022.

Bjorkman, Chesley, Cox, Derkevorkian, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Tupper, Johnson

ATTEST:

Johni Blankenship, MMC, Borough Clerk

Brent Johnson, Assembly President



Yes: No:

None

Absent: None