Introduced by: Cox, Mayor

Date: 04/04/23

Action: Adopted

Vote: 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

## A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SOLDOTNA HIGH SCHOOL HOCKEY TEAM AS THE ALASKA SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION SMALL-SCHOOLS STATE CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2023

- **WHEREAS,** the State Small-Schools High School Hockey Championship game was held at the Patty Center Ice Arena on February 4, 2023; and
- **WHEREAS,** the Soldotna High School Stars qualified to participate in the Alaska Small-Schools State Tournament with a conference record of 5 wins, 2 losses, and 1 tie; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Anthony Zurfluh and Assistant Coaches Dagen Walton, Lee Green, and Wyatt Medcoff, in the championship game the Stars defeated Juneau-Douglas High School by a score of 2-1; and
- **WHEREAS**, this marks the Stars first-ever Alaska Small-Schools State Championship win in program history; and
- WHEREAS, members of the winning team include Jace Appelhans, Andrew Arthur, Mykah Booth, Blake Bucho, Aiden Burcham, Tanner Clyde, Riley Cronin, Spencer Dahlman, Marshall DeRaeve, Daniel Heath, Kyler Howell, Silas Larsen, Dawson Lockwood, Gehret Medcoff, Liberty Miller, Ezekiel Miller, Jackson Purcell, Aiden Stinnett, Boone Theiler, Peyton Williams, and Zack Zurfluh; and
- **WHEREAS,** 1st Team All-Conference awards were presented to Jace Appelhans (forward), Aiden Burcham (defenseman), and Boone Theiler (forward); and
- **WHEREAS,** All-Conference Honorable Mention awards were presented to Silas Larsen (Forward) and Jackson Purcell (Goalie); and
- WHEREAS, Alaska Small-Schools State Tournament Player of the Game awards were presented to Gehret Medcoff for the Quarterfinal Game vs. Monroe Catholic High School, Jackson Purcell for the Semifinal Game vs. Palmer High School, and Jace Appelhans for the Championship Game vs. Juneau-Douglas High School; and
- **WHEREAS,** 1st Team All-Tournament awards were presented to Jace Appelhans (forward), Gehret Medcoff (forward), and Jackson Purcell (goalie); and

- WHEREAS, the Soldotna High School Stars qualified to participate in the Alaska Big-Schools State Tournament for the first time in 9 years by winning the Alaska Small-Schools State Title; and
- **WHEREAS,** Alaska Big-Schools State Tournament Player of the Game awards were presented to Jace Appelhans for the Quarterfinal Game vs. West High School and Silas Larsen for the Consolation Game vs. Wasilla High School; and
- **WHEREAS**, the performance of the Soldotna Stars High School Hockey Team for the 2023 hockey season was superb and a credit to their parents, school and community;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Soldotna High School Hockey Team for their performance in winning the Year 2023 Small-Schools State Championship.
- **SECTION 2.** That a special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.
- **SECTION 3.** That a copy of this commending resolution shall be given to Principal Sarge Truesdell of Soldotna High School, Head Coach Anthony Zurfluh, and Assistant Coaches Dagen Walton, Lee Green, and Wyatt Medcoff.
- **SECTION 4.** This resolution becomes effective upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 4TH DAY OF APRIL, 2023.

Brent Johnson, Assembly President

ATTEST:

Michele Turner, CMC, Aging Borough Clerk

Yes:	Chesley, Cox, Derkevorkian, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Ribbens, Tupp	per, Johnson
No:	None	
Absent:	None	
Kenai Peninsula B	prough	Commending Resolution Page 3 of 3