Introduced by:	Johnson at Request of the
	Borough Clerk
Date:	10/10/23
Action:	Adopted
Vote:	9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 2023-064

A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE OCTOBER 3, 2023 REGULAR BOROUGH ELECTION

WHEREAS, the Canvass Board of the Kenai Peninsula Borough met on October 10, 2023 and tallied the votes of Questioned, Absentee, and Special Needs ballots and the ballots cast by voters in the by-mail precincts; and

WHEREAS, together with votes counted on election night; and

WHEREAS, the precinct tallies as recorded by the Canvass Board are as follows:

BOROUGH MAYOR
(3-year term)
MICCICHE, Peter A5,246
Write-Ins
ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 2 – KENAI
(3-year term)
TUNSETH, Ryan559
Write-Ins
ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 3 – NIKISKI
(2-year term)
RIBBENS, Peter
BERTOLDO, Adam
Write-Ins
ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 5 – STERLING
(3-year term)
ELAM, Bill
SAVAGE, Nissa155
Write-Ins6
ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 8 – HOMER
(3-year term)
COOPER, Kelly
SMITH, Heath
Write-Ins

BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 3 – NIKISKI (3-year term)
TAURIAINEN, Jason A474
BERTOLDO, Lyndsey
Write-Ins4
BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 4 –
SOLDOTNA (3-year term)
VADLA, Penny418
Write-Ins
BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 5 –
STERLING (1-year term)
CIZEK, Kelley354
ROMANIN, Beverly196
Write-Ins
BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 7 –
CENTRAL (3-year term)
MACRAE, DIANNE
CARY, Debbie V296
Write-Ins8

BEAR CREEK FIRE SERVICE AREA	
BOARD	
(Seat E, 3-year term)	
PETERSEN, Jena92	2
Write-Ins	

NIKISKI FIRE SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat D, 3-year term)

COVEY, Jasper O	681
Write-Ins	16

NIKISKI FIRE SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat E, 3-year term)

GREGORY, Daniel L.	.684
Write-Ins	8

NIKISKI SENIOR SERVICE AREA
BOARD
(Seat D, 3-year term)
ALLAM, Hala574
Write-Ins16

NORTH PENINSULA RECREATION
SERVICE AREA BOARD
(Seat E, 3-year term)
OLIVA. Stacy A

ULIVA, Stacy A.	
Write-Ins	

SEWARD BEAR CREEK FLOOD SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat A, 3-year Term)

- HETTICK, David W......462 Write-Ins14
- SOUTH KENAI PENINSULA HOSPITAL SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat D, 3-year Term)

HIGHLAND, Roberta1	,554
Write-Ins	43

- SOUTH KENAI PENINSULA HOSPITAL SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat E, 3-year Term)

SOUTH KENAI PENINSULA HOSPITAL SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat F, 3-year Term) FLETCHER, Tamara.....1,479 Write-Ins41

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

SECTION 1. That in the borough-wide election for Mayor, Peter A. Micciche was elected to a 3-year term, having received the majority of the number of votes cast.

- **SECTION 2.** That in Assembly District 2, Ryan Tunseth was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 3.** That in Assembly District 3, Peter Ribbens was elected to a 2-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 4.** That in Assembly District 5, Bill Elam was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 5.** That in Assembly District 8, Kelly Cooper was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 6.** That in the Board of Education District 3, Jason A. Tauriainen was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 7.** That in the Board of Education District 4, Penny Vadla was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 8.** That in the Board of Education District 5, Kelly Cizek was elected to a 1-year term having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 9.** That in the Board of Education District 7, Dianne Macrae was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 10.** That in the Bear Creek Fire Service Area, Jena Petersen was elected to Seat E for a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 11.** That in the Joint Operations Board for Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area, Gary Hale was elected to Seat E for a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes case.
- SECTION 12. That in the Nikiski Fire Service Area Board Area, the following were elected having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D – Jasper O. Covey for a 3-year term Seat E – Daniel L. Gregory for a 3-year term
- SECTION 13. That in the Nikiski Senior Service Area Board Area, the following were elected having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D – Hala Allam for a 3-year term Seat E – Lois Solmonson for a 3-year term
- **SECTION 14.** That in the North Peninsula Recreation Service Area, Stacy A. Oliva was elected to Seat E for a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.

- **SECTION 15.** That in the Seward Bear Creek Flood Service Area, David W. Hettick was elected to Seat A for a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- SECTION 16. That in the South Kenai Peninsula Hospital Service Area, the following were elected having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D – Roberta Highland for a 3-year term Seat E – Francie Roberts for a 3-year term Seat F – Tamara Fletcher for a 3-year term
- **SECTION 18.** That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 10TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 2023.

Brent Johnson, Assembly President

ATTEST: 1 Will turn

Michele Turner, CMC, Borough Clerk

1964

Yes:

ŊŢ

Chesley, Cox, Derkevorkian, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Ribbens, Tupper, Johnson

No: None

Absent: None