Introduced by: Mayor, Ecklund
Date: 12/12/23
Action: Adopted
Vote: 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SEWARD HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS' CROSS-COUNTRY TEAM AS THE DIVISION II ALASKA STATE CROSS-COUNTRY CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2023

- **WHEREAS,** the Division II Alaska State Championships were held on Saturday, October 7, at Palmer High School in Palmer, Alaska; and
- **WHEREAS,** under the direction of Head Coach Rachel Dow and Assistant Coach Ronn Hemstock, the team won its second-straight Division II state title; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Seahawks were dominant as they defended their title, with an amazingly low score (38), and six runners in the top twelve; and
- **WHEREAS,** Seward scored 34 points, while Grace Christian was second with 57, Sitka was third with 57, and Homer was fourth with 109; and
- WHEREAS, the Seward girls' team now has eight state titles; and
- WHEREAS, the members of the winning team are Lucy Bamford, Maren Bickling, Selah Brueckner, Stella Dow, Maddie Hass, Juniper Ingalls, Hailey Ingalls, Indigo Leslie, and Kathryn Van Buskirk; and
- **WHEREAS,** the team's excellent performance is a testament to their determination, commitment, and love of the sport, and a credit to their parents, school and community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Seward High School Girls' Cross-Country team for their performance in winning the Division II Alaska State Championship.
- **SECTION 2.** That a special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.

Kenai Peninsula Borough

Commending Resolution

SECTION 3. That a copy of this resolution be given to Head Coach Rachel Dow.

SECTION 4. That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 12TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2023

Brent Johnson, Assembly President

1964

ATTEST:

Michele Turner, CMC, Borough Clerk

Yes: Cooper, Cox, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Ribbens, Tunseth, Tupper, Johnson

No: None

Absent: None