Introduced by: Mayor, Ecklund
Date: 12/12/23
Action: Adopted
Vote: 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

## A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SEWARD HIGH SCHOOL NINE-MAN FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE ALASKA STATE CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2023

- **WHEREAS,** the Nine-Man State Championship was held on Saturday, October 7, 2023, at Colony High School in Palmer, Alaska; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Seahawks (7-0) completed their first undefeated season by overwhelming their greatest rival; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Tyler Mallory and Assistant Coaches Cody Gilmore, Cole Petersen, and Nick Woodard, the team defeated Nikiski 42-0 to win the first football state title in school history and the first nine-man state final in Alaska's history; and
- WHEREAS, team members were Kupono Albino, Amos Ballard, Ronan Bickling, Noah Bird, Judah Brueckner, Micah Brueckner, Emerson Cross, Hunter Forshee-Kurtz, Greyson Gardner, Brett Gilmore, William LaRow, Shawn McClain, Fernando Pagani, Hunter Price, Noah Price, Gideon Schrock, Jerick Senecal, Dustin Shoop, Caeli Shoop, Kameron Smith, John VanBuskirk, Zachariah Woodard, and Melanie Woodard; and
- WHEREAS, special recognitions were given to Kupono Albino Offensive Player of the Year, Gideon Schrock Co-Defensive Player of the Year, and John Van Buskirk Lineman of the Year; and
- WHEREAS, the team's roster has grown from 13 players in 2020 to 21 players in 2023; and
- **WHEREAS**, the team's excellent performance is a testament to their hard work, dedication, perseverance, and teamwork, and a credit to their parents, school and community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Seward High School Nine-Man Football Team for their performance in winning the State Championship.
- **SECTION 2.** That a special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.
- **SECTION 3.** That a copy of this resolution be given to Head Coach Tyler Mallory.

**SECTION 4.** That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 12TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2023.

Brent Johnson, Assembly President

ATTEST:

Michala Turner CMC Borough Clark

Yes: Cooper, Cox, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Ribbens, Tunseth, Tupper, Johnson

No: None

Absent: None