Introduced by:	Mayor
Date:	01/02/24
Action:	Adopted
Vote:	9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE KENAI CENTRAL HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS' VOLLEYBALL TEAM AS THE 3A ALASKA STATE CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2023

- **WHEREAS,** the 3A Alaska State Championship Game was held on Saturday, November 11, at 2:00 PM at the Alaska Airlines Center in Anchorage, Alaska; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Tracie Beck and Assistant Coaches Jesse Duke and Maata Finau, the Kardinals won their second straight state title and second title in school history, and appeared in their fourth straight championship game; and
- WHEREAS, the members of the winning team are Sarah Baisden, Emma Beck, Grace Beiser, Jaycie Castillo, Tait Cooper, Gracee Every, Camilla Gonzalez, Brynnen Hanson, Savannah Hershberger, Avia Miller, Ellsi Miller, Stella Selanoff, Sophie Tapley, and Kate Wisnewski; and
- WHEREAS, Emma Beck, Jaycie Castillo, Sophie Tapley and Kate Wisnewski were All State Team members; and
- WHEREAS, Emma Beck was recognized as the Best Hitter of 3A State; and
- WHEREAS, Sarah Baisden and Grace Beiser were recognized for Team Spirit; and
- WHEREAS, the team's excellent performance is a testament to their determination, commitment, and love of the sport, and a credit to their parents, school and community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Kenai Central High School Girls' Volleyball Team for their performance in winning the 3A Alaska State Championship.
- **SECTION 2.** That a special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.

SECTION 3. That a copy of this resolution be given to Head Coach Tracie Beck.

SECTION 4. That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 2ND DAY OF JANUARY, 2024.

Brent Johnson, Assembly President

ATTEST:

Michele Turner, CMC, Borough Clerk

1984

Yes:

Cooper, Cox, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Ribbens, Tunseth, Tupper, Johnson

No: None

Absent: None