Introduced by:
Date:
Action:
Vote:

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SEWARD HIGH SCHOOL BOYS' WRESTLING TEAM - DIVISION II ALASKA STATE CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2023

- WHEREAS, the Division II Alaska State Championships were held December 15-16, 2023, at the Alaska Airlines Center in Anchorage, Alaska; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach and Kachemak Conference Coach of the Year Brian Mullaly, with Assistant Coaches Nate Smith, Chris Schilling, Amanda Dozier, and Will Gentry, and support from Team Manager Aksel Unrein, the Seahawks scored 184 points to take the Division II title, topping the 137 points of runner-up Haines; and
- WHEREAS, this was the second State wrestling title in school history, the last coming in 1999 when the Division II level was called Class 1-2-3 A; and
- WHEREAS, the championship team was composed of Amos Ballard, Mesha Bidnyy, Ridge Conant, Alex Fink, Hunter Forshee-Kurtz, Alejandro Herrera, Tommy Jarnig, Emery Kirchner, William LaRow, Chloe Lastimosa, Kat Noll, Alejandro Sanchez, Aidan Schilling, Tony Smith, and John VanBuskirk; and
- WHEREAS, special recognitions were given to Ridge Conant as the second legacy State Champion in the Seward program's history; Hunter Forshee-Kurtz as State Champion and Division II Outstanding Wrestler—plus two-time State Champion 2022 and 2023; Tommy Jarnig as State Champion and Sportsman Award recipient; Emery Kirchner for 3rd Place; Chloe Lastimosa as 2023 State Qualifier; Alejandro Sanchez for 3rd Place; Aiden Schilling for State Runner-Up 2nd Place—the first three-time finalist in program history, and two-time State Champion 2021 and 2022; Tony Smith for 3rd Place; and John Van Buskirk for 4th Place and Sportsman Award recipient; and
- **WHEREAS,** the team's excellent performance is a testament to their determination, commitment, teamwork, enthusiasm, and love of the sport, and a credit to their coaches, families, school, and community; and
- WHEREAS, all eight team members who were State qualifiers for the Division II Boys' Tournament made it to the semifinals—a significant accomplishment—and thus all eight placed in the top four; and

- WHEREAS, this championship marks the first time in school history that the Seahawks won three State titles at a single meet: Ridge Conant, Tommy Jarnig, and Hunter Forshee-Kurtz; and
- WHEREAS, this 2023 team also earned 2nd Place at the Mountain City Christian Academy Tournament and 1st Place at the Lancer Smith Memorial Tournament for Division II schools, placing 9th overall out of 38 teams in the tournament; and
- WHEREAS, in all three divisions at the State tournament—Division I, Division II, and Girls'—the outstanding wrestlers were all from the Kenai Peninsula, evidence of the dynamic wrestling community here and a source of pride for all coaches of the sport here on the Peninsula;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Seward High School Boys' Wrestling Team for their performance in winning the Division II Alaska State Championship.
- **SECTION 2.** That a special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.
- **SECTION 3.** That a copy of this resolution shall be given to Head Coach Brian Mullaly.
- **SECTION 4.** That this resolution shall take effect immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 27TH DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2024.

Brent Johnson, Assembly President



Michele Turner, CMC, Borough Clerk

ATTEST:

Yes: Cooper, Cox, Ecklund, Elam, Hibbert, Ribbens, Tunseth, Tupper, Johnson

No:

Absent: None

None