

TO:	Kelly Cooper, Assembly President Members of the Assembly	MIKE NAVARRE BOROUGH MAYOR
THRU:	Mike Navarre, Mayor MP Craig Chapman, Finance Director Cchap	/
FROM:	Brenda Ahlberg, Community & Fiscal Projects Manager	N
DATE:	March 23, 2017	
SUBJECT:	A Resolution Approving Twenty-Seven Unincorporated Corporticipation in the State's Fiscal Year 2018 Community A (Mayor)	

The Community Revenue Sharing program was changed to the Community Assistance Program effective January 01, 2017. The state statutes and administrative code were updated to reflect the name change; however, nothing else changed with regard to administering the program.

The borough is tasked with annually evaluating the eligibility of unincorporated communities, ensuring that communities meet the required program regulations as outlined in the Alaska Administrative Code and the Alaska Statutes Title 29.

Eligibility requirements are abridged as follows:

- 1. Minimum population of 25 persons
- 2. Must provide 3 of 7 services paid for by tax levy, the Native or nonprofit entity:
 - \checkmark Fire protection
 - ✓ Emergency medical✓ Water/sewer

 - ✓ Solid waste management
 - ✓ Public road/ice road maintenance
 - \checkmark Public health
 - \checkmark Search & rescue
- 3. Native or incorporated nonprofit within the community willing to be the fiscal agent and providing the program or product to the public

This resolution will recognize twenty-seven unincorporated communities and entities eligible to participate in the 2017/2018 Community Assistance Program, which must be submitted with the This resolution will recognize twenty-seven unincorporated communities and entities eligible to participate in the 2017/2018 Community Assistance Program, which must be submitted with the borough's application to the State of Alaska. The estimated amount to be allocated to each community is undetermined at this time.