Introduced by:

Bagley

Date:

04/02/19

Action:

Adopted

Vote:

9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 2019-024

A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE SNOWMOBILE TRAILS GRANT PROGRAM AND ENCOURAGING THE STATE OF ALASKA TO CONTINUE THE PROGRAM

- WHEREAS, the Snowmobile Trails Program provides reimbursable, matching grant funds for trail easement acquisition, development and maintenance of trails and trail-related facilities for snowmobile use; and
- WHEREAS, the Snowmobile Trail Grant Program is funded through legislative authorization to receive funds from snowmobile point-of-sale registration fees; and
- WHEREAS, these funds are used to support snowmobile trail development and maintenance, as well as snowmobile safety and education programs; and
- WHEREAS, the grant application process was designed to allocate funds to the various snowmobile clubs in the State which have Snowmobile Trail Advisory Council (SnowTRAC) approved snowmobile trails; and
- WHEREAS, Governor Dunleavy's decision to eliminate the grant program will have devastating consequences on the safety, education and maintenance of the SnowTRAC trail systems in the Kenai Peninsula Borough and the State; and
- WHEREAS, the Caribou Hills Cabin Hoppers have made it a high priority to inform local dealers, club members, all-terrain vehicle owners of the importance of registering all recreational vehicles and work to keep owners informed of where their registration dollars are being appropriated;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That Governor Dunleavy is strongly encouraged to continue funding the Snowmobile Trails Program.
- **SECTION 2.** That a copy of this resolution shall be sent to Governor Dunleavy, all members of the Alaska House of Representatives and all members of the Alaska State Senate.
- **SECTION 3.** That this resolution shall become effective immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 2ND DAY OF APRIL, 2019.

ATTEST:

John Blankenship, MMC, Borough Clerk

Wayne H. Øgle, Assembly President

KENATURAL KENATURAN KENATU

Yes:

Bagley, Blakeley, Carpenter, Cooper, Dunne, Fischer, Hibbert, Smalley, Ogle

No:

None

Absent:

None