Introduced by:	Mayor
Date:	12/03/19
Action:	Adopted
Vote:	8 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent, 1 Abstention

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 2019-065

A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE TRANSPORTATION PRIORITIES TO BE CONSIDERED FOR GRANT FUNDING TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE STATE OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND PUBLIC FACILITIES

WHEREAS, people with specialized transportation needs have rights to mobility;

- WHEREAS, individuals with limited incomes and people with disabilities rely heavily, sometimes exclusively, on public and specialized transportation services to live independent and fulfilling lives and these services are essential for travel to work and medical appointments, to run essential errands, or simply to take advantage of social or cultural opportunities; and
- WHEREAS, under MAP-21, projects funded by Federal Transit Administration ("FTA") Section 5310, Enhanced Mobility for Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities Program, must be included in a locally developed, coordinated public transit-human services transportation plan; and
- **WHEREAS,** the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities requires any human service transit projects funded by the Alaska Mental Health Trust to also be included in a coordinated public transit-human services transportation plan; and
- WHEREAS, the borough supported the "2019 Kenai Peninsula Coordinated Public Transit-Human Services Transportation Plan" by way of Resolution 2019-045; and
- **WHEREAS,** the FTA Section 5310 Enhanced Mobility of Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities Program provides operating and capital assistance funding to provide transit and purchase of services to private nonprofit agencies, federally recognized tribes, and to qualifying local public bodies that provide specialized transportation services to elderly persons and to persons with disabilities; and
- WHEREAS, Alaska Mental Health Trust provides grants to private non-profit agencies, federally recognized tribes and to qualifying local public bodies that serve community transit needs of trust beneficiaries, namely Alaskans who experience mental illness, developmental disabilities, chronic alcoholism with psychosis, or Alzheimer's disease and related dementia through funding for operating assistance, purchase of services, capital and coordinated transportation system planning; and

- WHEREAS, a local transportation committee consisting of seniors, individuals with disabilities, representatives of public, private, and non-profit transportation and human services providers and participation by other members of the public, met on November 18, 2019; and
- WHEREAS, the committee reviewed and recommended the prioritization of projects as presented by the Independent Living Center, Inc. ("ILC") finding the first priority is the ILC Supported Transportation Voucher Program for the Central Kenai Peninsula, the second priority is the ILC Supported Transportation Voucher Program for the Homer and Anchor Point Area, and the third priority is the ILC Supported Transportation Voucher Program for the Seward Area; and
- **WHEREAS,** the full funding of these projects as presented by ILC will be beneficial to more individuals living on the Central, Southern and Eastern Kenai Peninsula; and
- **WHEREAS,** these project priorities will be submitted to the State of Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities to be considered for grant awards through state and federal grant programs;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly supports the Independent Living Center, Inc's pursuit of state and federal grant funding opportunities.
- **SECTION 2.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly supports the local transportation committee's efforts to prioritize the project applications.
- SECTION 3. This resolution shall become effective immediately upon enactment.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 3RD DAY OF DECEMBER, 2019.

holay

ATTEST:

Johni Blankenship, MMC, Borough Clerk

Kelly Cooper, Assembly President



Yes: Bjorkman, Blakeley, Carpenter, Cox, Dunne, Johnson, Smalley, Cooper

No: None

Absent: None

Abstention: Hibbert