Cooper at Request of the
Borough Clerk
10/13/20
Adopted
9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

#### KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 2020-072

## A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE OCTOBER 6, 2020 REGULAR BOROUGH ELECTION

- WHEREAS, the Canvass Board of the Kenai Peninsula Borough met on October 13, 2020 and tallied the votes of Questioned, Absentee, and Special Needs ballots and the ballots cast by voters in the by-mail precincts; and
- WHEREAS, together with votes counted on election night; and
- WHEREAS, the precinct tallies as recorded by the Canvass Board are as follows:

BOROUGH MAYOR	
(3-year term)	
PIERCE, Charlie	7649
HUTCHINGS, Linda Farnsworth	6139
NIGHTINGALE, Troy	509
Write-Ins	

ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 2 - KENAI	
(3-year term)	
DERKEVORKIAN, Richard56	2
SMALLEY, Harold "Hal"53	5
DUFFIELD, James "Jim"15	8
Write-Ins	7

#### ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 5 – STERLING-FUNNY RIVER (3-year term)

ELAM, B	Bill	1404
Write-Ins		57

#### ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 8 - HOMER (3-year term) CHESLEY, Lane......1637

Write-Ins	;

BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 3 - NIKISKI
(3-year term)
TAURIAINEN, Jason A1057
Write-Ins43
BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 4 -
SOLDOTNA (3-year term)
VADLA, Penny1278
Write-Ins
BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 6 –
EAST PENINSULA (2-year term)
MORGAN, Virginia704
HAMILTON, Katie
,
Write-Ins15
BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 7 –
CENTRAL
(3-year term)
CARY, Debbie V1148
Write-Ins
W111C-111541

BEAR CREEK FIRE SERVICE AREA
BOARD
(Seat E, 3-year term)
PETERSEN, Jena
Write-Ins

#### 

NIKISKI FIRE SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat D, 3-year term) COVEY, Jasper......985

	·
Write-Ins19	)

NIKISKI FIRE SERVICE AREA I	BOARD
(Seat E, 3-year term)	
GREGORY, Daniel L.	739
UHLIN, Dil E. Jr.	
Write-Ins	13

#### NIKISKI SENIOR SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat D. 3-year term)

(Scar D, 5-year term)	
CLARK, Patrick	431
BECKER, Jonathan	
Write-Ins	9

#### NIKISKI SENIOR SERVICE AREA BOARD

#### (Seat E, 3-year term)

SOLMONSON, Lois	
WALKER, John	
DELAND, Erich	
Write-Ins	

### NORTH PENINSULA RECREATION SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat E, 3-year term)

OLIVA, Stacy	.1019
Write-Ins	24

SEWARD BEAR CREEK FLOOD SERVICE AREA BOARD (Seat D, 3-Year Term)
ATWOOD, Dwayne792
Write-Ins
SOUTH KENAI PENINSULA HOSPITAL
SERVICE AREA BOARD
(Seat D, 3-Year Term)
HIGHLAND, Roberta
Write-Ins63
SOUTH KENAI PENINSULA HOSPITAL
SERVICE AREA BOARD
(Seat E, 3-Year Term)
LUND, Judith C2985
Write-Ins49
SOUTH KENAI PENINSULA HOSPITAL
SERVICE AREA BOARD
(Seat F, 3-Year Term)
WALLI, Marie
Write-Ins43
SOUTH KENAI PENINSULA HOSPITAL
SERVICE AREA BOARD
(Seat G, 2-year term)
DAUGHARTY, Tim
·
Write-Ins45
PROPOSITION NO. 1A EXPANSION
AREA – CREATING THE WESTERN
EMERGENCY SERVICE AREA
YES
NO153
PROPOSITION NO. 1B EXISTING AREA
– CREATING THE WESTERN
EMERGENCY SERVICE AREA
YES472
NO233
<b>PROPOSITION NO. 2</b>
REPEAL ORDINANCE 2020-24
YES
NO

# NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That in the borough-wide election for Mayor, Charlie Pierce was elected to a 3-year term, having received the majority of the number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 2.** That in Assembly District 2, Richard Derkevorkian was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 3.** That in Assembly District 5, Bill Elam was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 4.** That in Assembly District 8, Lane Chesley was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 5.** That in the Board of Education District 3, Jason A. Tauriainen was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 6.** That in the Board of Education District 4, Penny Vadla was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 7.** That in the Board of Education District 6, Virginia Morgan was elected to a 2-year term having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 8.** That in the Board of Education District 7, Debbie V. Cary was elected to a 2-year term having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 9.** That in the Bear Creek Fire Service Area, Jena Petersen was elected to a Seat E for a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 10.** That in the Joint Operations Board for Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area, Gary Hale was elected to Seat E for a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- SECTION 11. That in the Nikiski Fire Service Area, the following were elected, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D – Jasper Covey for a 3-year term

Seat E – Daniel L. Gregory for a 3-year term

- SECTION 12. That in the Nikiski Senior Service Area Board Area, the following were elected, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D – Patrick Clark for a 3-year term Seat E – Lois Solmonson for a 3-year term
- **SECTION 13.** That in the North Peninsula Recreation Service Area, the following were elected, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat E – Stacy A. Oliva for a 3-year term

- **SECTION 14.** That in the Seward Bear Creek Flood Service Area, Dwayne Atwood was elected to Seat E for a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 15.** That in the South Kenai Peninsula Hospital Service Area, the following were elected having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D – Roberta Highland for a 3-year term Seat E – Judith C. Lund for a 3-year term Seat F – Marie Walli for a 3-year term Seat G – Tim Daugharty for a 2-year term
- **SECTION 16.** That Proposition No. 1A Proposed Expansion Area, Creating the Western Emergency Service Area was ratified by the voters of the borough.
- SECTION 17. That Proposition No. 1B Existing Anchor Point Fire and Emergency Medical Service Area, Creating the Western Emergency Service Area was ratified by the voters of the borough.
- SECTION 18. That Proposition No. 2, Repealing Ordinance 2020-24 was ratified by the voters of the borough.
- **SECTION 16.** That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

## ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 13TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 2020.

Kelly Cooper, Assembly President

ATTEST:

Johni Blankenship, MMC, Borough Clerk



Yes:	Bjorkman, Blakeley, Carpenter, Cox, Dunne, Hibbert, Johnson, Smalley, Cooper
No:	None

Absent: None