Kenai Peninsula Borough Office of the Borough Mayor

MEMORANDUM

TO:

Brent Hibbert, Assembly President

Members of the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly

FROM:

Charlie Pierce, Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor

DATE:

December 1, 2020

RE:

Western Emergency Service Area Board Appointments

In accordance with KPB 16.60.020, appointments to the Western Emergency Service Area Board are recommended by the Borough Mayor, subject to confirmation by the Borough Assembly. The applicants reside in the area to be represented. I hereby submit to you for confirmation the following Western Emergency Service Area Board appointments.

<u>Appointment</u>	Board Seat	Term Expires
Cherie Richter	(A) Anchor Point	October, 2023
Dawson Slaughter	(B) Anchor Point	October, 2022
Kathryn Lopeman	(C) Ninilchik	October, 2023
Katherine Covey	(D) Ninilchik	October, 2022
James Lee Kenshalo	(E) At-Large	October, 2021

Attachments: Application for Appointments
Clerks Residency Verification

Kenai Peninsula Borough Office of the Borough Clerk

MEMORANDUM

TO:

Charlie Pierce, Mayor

FROM:

Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk (B)

DATE:

November 10, 2020

RE:

Western Emergency Service Area Board Applications

Proposition No. 1 expanding the Anchor Point Fire and Emergency Medical Service Area to include Ninilchik and creating the Western Emergency Service Area was ratified by the voters at the October 6, 2020 Regular Municipal Election.

Ordinance 2020-31, Section 3 states, "There is established a board of directors for the Western Emergency Service Area composed of [5] five members, two of whom shall be residents of Anchor Point, two of whom shall be residents of Ninilchik and one of whom may be a resident from either community. All members be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the assembly. Up to one board member may also serve as a volunteer firefighter and/or emergency medical service provider for the service area without compensation except that which is ordinarily provided to such volunteers."

Public notice regarding vacant seat to be filled was provided pursuant to KPB 16.60.060 (B). The board makeup is as follows:

Seat A (Anchor Point Resident) Term Expires October, 2023

Seat B (Anchor Point Resident) Term Expires October 2022

Seat C (Ninilchik Resident) Term Expires October 2023

Seat D (Ninilchik Resident) Term Expires October 2022

Seat E (At-Large Resident of the Service Area) Term Expires October 2021

Applicants listed below meet the residency requirements and are submitted to you for your consideration.

Applicant	Seats Qualified For	Seat Requested	Attachments
*Dawson Slaughter	Seats A, B and E	Seat E	Application
Katherine Covey	Seats C, D and E	Seat D	Application
*Kathryn Lopeman	Seats C, D and E	Seat C	Application
James Lee Kenshalo	Seats C, D and E	None Specified	Letter
Phillip Lopez	Seats C, D and E	None Specified	Email Request
Jonathan Crocker	Seats A, B and E	Seat E	Application
Janice Nofziger	Seats C, D and E	Seat C	Application
Cherie Richter	Seats A, B and E	Seat B	Application
Arnold Mason	Seats C, D and E	Seat D	Application/Resume

^{*}current volunteer firefighter and/or emergency medical service provider